Water Polo "Dream" Team

September 25, 2017 | Girls’ College | Author: Karen Prinsloo

This St Stithians Girls’ College Water Polo “Dream” team have set new records by winning 9 GOLD MEDALS out of 12 tournaments they have played together.  A silver medal and two 4th places complete the tally!

They have won the Old Mutual Roedean U19 tournament twice, the U18 Saints Invitational, the Clarendon U19 Tournament, The Reef Cup, Summer Splash and the National Aquatics Tournament twice and now they are the first Gauteng school side to win the Reddam Tournament in Cape Town.

All of these girls have represented their province in various age groups, not only for water polo but also for hockey, squash or swimming!  This year, Leila Fernandes and Kate Hinrichs have played water polo for South Africa at the U17 EU Nations Cup in Prague, Una-Kelly Donnelly and Cassidy Hanna were selected for the SA U17B & Leila Fernandes SA U17A,  CANA tournament in Zimbabwe and Bianca Prinsloo represented SA ladies at the EU Nations Cup in the Czech Republic. 

Coached by Pierre le Roux (SA Men’s captain) who attended the World Championships in Hungary this year, they have thrived under his direction and coaching to convert the numerous silver medals into gold ones this season, maintaining the Number One position in School Girls’ water polo for 2016 and 2017.  Over the past two and a half years under his coaching he has built a confident team of youngsters who love this sport and an equally formidable group of parent supporters who travel the country supporting their daughters from the side of the pool in their blue and white Saints Supporters’ kit.

Practising a philosophy that it is all about team and not individuals and strengthening his junior sides so that there is enormous depth, St Stithians College polo is putting Gauteng polo back on the top of the polo ranking tables for women.

Back: L-R Pierre le Roux (coach), Zànne Smit (goalkeeper), Isabella Forbes, Leila Fernandes, Vicky Parrymore, Amy Joubert, Julie-Ann Wagner, Jennifer Everett, Natasha Panzera (Manager)

Middle: Kate Hinrichs, Alexia Galatis, Zoë-Blu Mottram

Front: Samantha Green (Vice-Captain), Bianca Prinsloo (Captain), Una-Kelly Donnelly
(not at this tournament - Philippa Hobbs & Cassidy Hanna)


  2. REDDAM (Western Cape)
  3. PEARSON (Eastern Province)
  4. STIRLING (Border)
  6. REDDAM B (Western Cape)
  7. ST MARY’S (Gauteng)
  8. HERSCHEL (Western Cape)
  9. ST PETER’S (Gauteng)
  10. DURBAN GIRLS’ COLLEGE (KwaZulu Natal)
  11. WESTERFORD (Western Cape)
  12. COLLEGIATE (Eastern Province)
  13. ROEDEAN (Gauteng)
  14. DSG (Eastern Province)
  15. WYNBERG (Western Cape)
  16. SPRINGFIELD (Western Cape)
  17. GLENWOOD HOUSE (Southern Cape)
  18. BLOEMHOF (Boland)
  19. RUSTENBURG (Western Cape)
  20. RHENISH (Boland)

Photo credits: Lynne Parrymore, Karen Prinsloo, MyComLink