Cultural Round Up

October 02, 2017 | Boys’ College

Congratulations to all our boys who received awards in the various areas in the Cultural Pillar.

Half Colours, Colours and Honours were awarded in Drama, Music and General Culture.



  • Grant Algeo
  • Michael Turnbull
  • Payemo Nyembe
  • Matthew Julies
  • Brett Kruger
  • Masimba Gangaidzo
  • Rashid Bhayat
  • Siyabonga Earlam
  • Reabetswe Botlholo
  • Nicholas Gaddin
  • Aedan Murray
  • Nicholas Godden
  • Kaden Arguile

Honours re-award

  • Siyabonga Zwane
  • Jock Kleynhans
  • Dylan Clare


  • Michael Hern
  • Nathan Olivier
  • James Leigh
  • Simangaliso Nawa
  • Sheldon Govender
  • Thabang Dhlamini


Half Colours

  • Iviwe Matikinca


  • Seyuran Arran
  • Robert-Reece North
  • Tafara M’Kombe


  • Jimmy Qiu

General Culture

Half Colours

  • Reabetswe Botlholo
  • Benjamin Servant
  • Jarred Loggenberg


  • Kago Saul

Saints Singer and Musician of the Year Awards

Junior Musician of the Year: Sabelo Ntshingila

Junior Singer of the Year: Lesego Sithole

Senior Classical Musician of the Year: Jimmy Qiu

Senior Classical Singer of the Year: Adrian Schober

Senior Contemporary Musician of the Year: Luyanda Mazibuko

Senior Contemporary Singer of the Year: Lucretius Masanga

Scholarship Award for Most promising junior: Luke Brown

External Music Examinations

External Music Examinations took place earlier this year. The following boys were recognised for their achievements in music theory and practical exams.

  • Jason Brown
  • Joshua Casey
  • Teagan Green
  • Dylan Jack
  • Mihlali Jiya
  • Luyanda Mazibuko
  • Sabelo Ntshingila
  • Matthew Potter
  • Jimmy Qiu (2)
  • Jordan Schmidt
  • Dario Testaferrata
  • Erich van Beek
  • Joshua Veening

Jason Brown and Sabelo Ntshingila are furthermore congratulated on achieving distinctions for their music exams.

Public Speaking and Debating

This year we entered two teams into the WITS Model United Nations National competition. The following boys are commended for representing their school and their designated country well. This activity requires hours of research and the boys also attended various presentations at the South African Institute for International Affairs.

Representing Australia in the Committee on the reform of the UN Security Council was

  • Ethan Charles
  • James McPhail
  • Jarrod Loggenberg

Representing Sri Lanka on the Committee for Technology was.

  • Taine de Buys
  • Matt Davies
  • Benjamin Servant

James McPhail was awarded his Public Speaking certificate for being the chairman of the Grade 10 team.

This year the Debating team has grown in strength under the guidance of the current African champion. The Junior and senior teams competed in the Atheneum League. We are very proud of the Junior team who, amidst tough competition, broke into the Quarter finals.

  • Bradley Hultzer
  • Tyrone Kasi
  • Gregory Henkel
  • Nirav Gordheen
  • Ben Linde
  • Devon Brooks
  • Luke Reilly


Choir ties were awarded to boys who maintain an attendance mark of 80% or above in two consecutive terms. Congratulations to the following boys for their enthusiasm and commitment to the Choir:

  • Anathi Booi
  • Luke Brown
  • Jordan Carr
  • Ethan Cox
  • Daniel Da Fonseca
  • Anesu Dzinotyiwei
  • Karabo Gcezengana
  • Lwandile Gumede
  • Maisela Kekana
  • Aviwe Mafunga
  • Nthato Matseke
  • Thabo Monyeki
  • Kyle Parker
  • Christiaan Richard
  • Loago Saleshando
  • Tendi Sambaza
  • Devon Wright
  • Kgosi Rapoo


The best Junior Chess player: Ben Linde

The best Senior Chess player: Keshav Vijayanath

The 2017 Inter house Chess Champions: Mountstephens