The Boys’ College wins big at FEDA!

June 09, 2017 | Boys’ College | Author: Matthew Ross

St Stithians Boys’ College FEDA Production 2017 - ‘DISRUPTION’

This year, the Boys' College entered FEDA once again with an original works piece of theatre that was thought provoking and topical. The piece was called 'Disruption' and, after performing it at the Fringe Theatre, Johannesburg, was chosen as a finalist for the Original Works category. Much to the cast and crew's delight, 'Disruption' won the Original Works category, tied with St Mary's. 

On 27 May 2017 the cast and crew of 'Disruption' performed at the FEDA Grand Finale. The evening showcased the winning performances from the Original Works and Published Works categories. 

The Boys' College went up against St Mary's, Greenside and St John's, all performing a variety of different pieces of theatre showing a range of different skills. After the performances there were several awards that were handed out of which we were nominated for Best Sound, Best Lighting, Best Visual Effects, Best Accent work (for Nicholas Gaddin) Best Chorus, Best Ensemble, Most Inspirational Play, Best Original Script and Best Director.

The evening included a very special moment for the Saints family: an award was created and donated to the FEDA Company in honour of Cameron Conlon for Best Clown. Cameron's mom was there on Saturday night to hand the award over to its worthy recipient. 

We are very pleased to announce that St Stithians Boys' College won Best Chorus and Best Director. Furthermore, it is with undeniable pride we announce that St Stithians Boys' College, out of 67 productions entered, went on to win the FEDA festival of 2017 with the Best Production. 

A huge congratulations to the cast who worked tirelessly and showed true work ethic and grit throughout the entire journey. The cast includes Grant Algeo, James Leigh, Kaden Arguile, Michael Hern, Michael Turnbull, Nathan Olivier, Nicholas Gaddin, Paemo Nyembe, Reabetswe Botlholo, Simangaliso Nawa, Ntokozo Siya Zwane and Thabang Dhlamini. The cast was very lucky to have three girls from the Girls’ College who dedicated their time and efforts to the performance and who added great value to the construction and performance thereof. They are Tayla Prendergast, Bonolo Shiceka and Emily Fields. The crew includes Masimba Gangaidzo, Matthew Julies, Ashwir Maharaj and Sheldon Govender, without whom, the cast would not have been half as successful. Special mention must be made of the Directors, Kaden Arguile and Michael Hern, who lead this team with tenacity and optimism.

The cast and crew have won R10 000 for the Drama Department and the opportunity to perform three times at the Grahamstown National Arts Festival of 2017. A hearty congratulations to all!